Showing the seed allows cheating

Anybody could take the seed given at the start of an unseeded mode run and go to seeded mode and memorize exactly what they need to do to clear the seed. This is an unbelievably easy way to cheat and needs to be removed. Showing the seed at the end screen of the run is fine, but showing it before will allow cheating. Someone could memorize and seed and get an unbeatable world record with the current system. Maybe if you want to check the seed during the run you could give an option to show the seed but disqualify the player from submitting it to the leader boards if cleared/ or showing the seed could submit the run to the seeded leader boards instead. I am hopeful that nobody has abused this yet, but there is no way of knowing without the honor system.

Thanks for bringing this to our attention! We’ll look into this.

1 Like